Inspiration

Perfecting My Craft

When I was younger I enjoyed drawing, and making various crafts. Going through high school I often had thoughts of becoming a graphic designer. However, as I got older I began to question myself as to what graphic designing could do for me? Where would that get me? Is it really a “proper” job? Could that help me achieve all the things I would like? Support me and my family? Well now I’m in university studying Environmental Science; therefore, you know my answer to those questions. Well, my thoughts……..A little research I carried out showed otherwise. After all, once you’re doing what you love you’d never actually be working. It would have been up to me to set myself above, and beyond the graphic designing crowd.Β 

Lately, I’ve been drawn back into creating designs, doodling, and coming up with ideas for clothing. Also, I’m very active on social media so quite frequently I’ve seen some celebrities and upcoming artist post pictures of an animated them. I got interested, and wanted to learn how to do that for myself. I figured you could do it with adobe illustrator, but as a college student I wasn’t willing to pay $9.99 *or whatever the price is* per month. I downloaded a free trial, but soon got frustrated when I attempted to do the drawing. 30 days later the trial expired, and all hope was lost. Hope was brought back to me when my friend and I were having a discussion about my previous involvement in a Sidewalk Art Festival. After that discussion I began doodling, and showed him a snapshot. He was impressed and suddenly my hope came back, and I was ready to try again.

Upon further research I found a new FREE software on the web, which happened to have similarities of adobe illustrator. This time I made sure to read through a few tutorials before I got started. With all my excitement I began again, and the drawing came out better than expected. However, disappointment came soon after when I had problems coloring said drawing. I took a break, complained to my friend, got re-motivated and tried again. With the help of YouTube I finally completed my first cartoon me.

Hallelujah!Β 

1428810542018 CartoonCartoon_Colored

Disclaimer: It may not be the best compared to other individuals, but I’m very proud of myself. I shall continue trying and perfecting my craft until I’m where I want to be.

Moral of the story: DON’T GIVE UP! NO MATTER WHAT, TRY AND TRY AGAIN. TAKE A BREATHER, GATHER YOUR THOUGHTS, AND GET YOUR HEAD BACK IN THE GAME.Β 

Leave a Reply

