College Life

My College Life Pt. 1

I recently wrote a blog on after college life (Real World Time), so I decided why not have a story on my college life? Well, here it goes!

My college life lasted three years, usually four years for a science degree, but I had some credits transferred from my previous school. We’ll break it down into parts so therefore it isn’t too long, and drawn out. Hopefully, I also remember everything that happened that year.

2013: Yay, I’m Free

On December 28th 2012, just a few days after Christmas I left my hometown Antigua to embark on my new journey of university life. Of course, the picture in my head was what I saw on TV, but as you would soon see that was not the case.

Blog pic

The image above is a near perfect representation of what I was leaving behind to what I was about to encounter. From sun, sea, sand, the perfect tourist destination, summer all year-round to tornado alley, hotter than hell, a different season every other week (If you live in Texas you’d understand.) Yes, I left my nice little Caribbean island of Antigua to move to Wichita Falls, Texas.

I wasn’t thinking of the location, but much rather of the fact that I’d be away from so many things in Antigua, and have the opportunity to start afresh. So I started the Midwestern State University in spring 2013. Let me also say that attending university wasn’t always in my plans. It was rather last minute only because all my friends were talking about going away, and I was stuck there like “now what?” So I applied, and got accepted (Woohoo!) I decided to major in Environmental Science, because it was one of the things I was always interested with throughout High School. Even though I didn’t know where it would take me I was up for the challenge.

It was my first semester, and my best GPA wise, hey I made the Dean’s honor roll. Besides school work wise I was very shy, and afraid to actually go out. I didn’t have much friends, and I didn’t know how to quite adjust to my new surroundings. P.S. I was also the youngest person in the group I was acquainted with. Β Even though I was always a shy individual it stemmed from me being afraid to be my true self around others for fear of judgement. It was kind of like when people see you at first they have one image in their head, and anything you do outside of that image is shunned. So I tried to stick with what people thought I was. (BAD IDEA!!! P.S. Never be afraid to BE YOURSELF!

My first spring break – Now watching all sorts of college movies and TV shows I had high expectations of what Spring Break was supposed to be like. However, here in Wichita Falls it was nothing like that. Therefore, my roommate, one of her best friends and I (I’m a third wheel most times) went to Dallas for a couple of days. Dallas is a two hour drive away, and one of the major cities in Texas. We basically shopped, went go carting, roller-coaster ride (hated it), and clubbing! It was fun, and I couldn’t complain.

Summer School – So, because I was an international student I was required to do summer school in my first year (It sucked). Summers in Texas are no fun trust me; the temperature goes above 100 degrees! That’s where they get the name of their famous bike ride “Hotter than Hell.” To make it even worst I was taking a history class at 8 a.m. with one of the most boring professors. I definitely learned my lesson after that summer.

Fall – My favorite time of year; it was also my first time experiencing a change in season. The way the leaves change color and are all scattered on the ground just makes me feel happy. The lake by the gym is always pretty around this time of year. Also in the fall semester the Caribbean Students Organization which I am apart of hosts a parade called “Caribfest.” It’s basically a mini carnival like those put on in the islands, Brazil, Canada and all over the world. To continue my growth and stepping out of my comfort zone (with a little push from my roommate) I participated in the parade. Fall semester also happens to be a big semester for me, because my birthday is in October. It was my first birthday away from friends and family, but I enjoyed it with the help of some people.

My first year was also when I had my most homesickness, even though it was what I always dreamed of (leaving home, living alone, blah blah blah.) Therefore, I went home for my break between Spring and Summer school, and again for Christmas Break. It’s always nice being home, nothing beats Caribbean food, relaxing on a beach, and simply put ISLAND LIFE.

All in all after year one, my advice to any college freshmen are don’t be afraid to try new things, join new clubs, and put yourself out there. It would be scary at first, but in the long run it would all be worth it.

Leave a Reply

