Daily Prompts, reflection

Remember this?

Have you ever wondered how far back in your life you can actually remember?

Maybe your 5th birthday?

Or just something you did when you were young or how life was?

Is it easy for you?

Or are you like me, where my first memories I can recall are from high school (age 10 up).

Don’t get me wrong I recall a few memories from primary school, but only of significant events. And they were usually negative in some way e.g embarrassing moments (there were a lot), getting teased/bullied, and maybe the one occasional good memory, but you get the point. They’re some people in my life which I can’t recall how we met or how our friendship were before now. Sad thing is I can’t even remember my primary school graduation.

I vaguely researched this topic about what’s the earliest age persons have memories from, and it was stated around 9/10.

Childhood/Infantile Amnesia.

However, I currently have a friend who remembers everything about her life growing up, dates included, well at least the year. I wonder how she does it every time, and what it would mean for her life later down. would she still recall each experience and when it happened? Or eventually as she gets older she’d recall less and less, and eventually all.

I know this is not the kind of thing to get jealous about, but I wish I could remember details of my life. Or maybe the ones she remembers are just like mine, a significant moment in time. Maybe you only remember memories where a certain event occurred or each memory has a trigger for you to remember it?

I can’t completely be upset at the fact that I can’t remember certain occasions, because thinking about it there are a lot of great memories that you do remember. Like the simple stuff you probably take for granted; the scent of a lover, something nice someone said to you or the way they made you feel. Imagine all the work your brain does to remind you of these things.

Strangely enough this topic has been on my mind for sometime. Maybe just the general idea of psychology interests me. Like how I’m interested in the way the earth operates i’m just curious about the way the brain operates.

In response to the Discovery Challenge “Memory

3 thoughts on “Remember this?”

  1. I don’t remember everything about my childhood, but I do have memories from four years of age: The mouse that made my mom jump up on a chair and a house call by the doctor (he was there for my brother, I hid upstairs). I would say I have a random memory because I really can’t tell you everything that’s happened in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

