Inspiration, reflection

Who am I?

You may know my name, my age, my weight or little facts about me like my favorite show, food or color.

But, do you really know me?

I recently shared my blog with two of my closest friends, and they both made the same remarks I thought they would. “I never knew this side of you”, “who is this person?” Basically remarks which showed that they never really knew me, or I guess at least that part of me.

However, I can’t blame them. I’ve kept this part of me hidden for so long. Partly because I wasn’t sure how to portray it, and another part for fear of being judged/ridiculed. My passion for the arts, to create, to inspire just didn’t seem in line with what my other friends were interested in. So I’ve been found to put my interests on hold while I continue living up to my friends expectations, doing whatever they were interested in.

who am i

The above image describes my situation perfectly. At some point in your life you have to let go of people pleasing. Stop trying to make everyone else happy and live for you. If there is something you always wanted to do, DO IT; somewhere you always wanted to go? GO! Time waits on no-one, and the longer you suppress your dreams you miss out on opportunities and chances that may well benefit you.

Below is a quote I found on pinterest, basically amplyfing what I said above.

You can’t let people scare you. You can’t go your whole life trying to please everyone else. You can’t go through life worried about what everyone else is going to think.Whether it’s your hair, clothes, what you have to say, how you feel, what you believe and what you have. You can’t let the judgement of others stop you from being you. Because if you do, you’re no longer you. You’re someone everyone else wants you to be.
Unknown

I made my mistake. Now I’m on my way to correcting it. There’s nothing wrong with being yourself. Time to stop hiding behind false images.

Show them the real you.

Identity

Liyah’s World

1 thought on “Who am I?”

Leave a Reply

