Lifestyle

World AIDS Day

Good Morning Guys!

Guess what today is..

DECEMBER

My favorite time of the year, but to start it off today is AIDS Awareness Day.

HIV is the virus which causes AIDS; it is the most concerning health and development risk worldwide. There are currently 36.7 million people living with HIV/AIDS of which 1.8 million are children.

As an individual I urge you to get tested for it is better to know than to live blindly.

AIDS is not discriminatory on race, age, religion etc.

#KNOWYOURSTATUS

Image result for world aids day
thecultureconcept.com

Facts/Stats:

www.aids.gov  – Also gives you the opportunity to locate testing centers

www.aidsinfo.nih.gov 

 My Testing Experience:

I’m currently in the process of becoming a member of the Rotaract club whose main mission is to give back to the community. On November 30th their International Service Committee partnered with our local AIDS Secretariat to provide free testing for the public. I decided why not do a test for myself seeing as I’m somewhat in the club and also because I never done a test before.

In the beginning I didn’t know what to expect as I’m not a fan of needles/doctors/hospitals, so I was nervous/scared. When I made it to the venue I was close to backing out and changing my mind. However, the other members encouraged (forced) me to go inside.

The guy that was doing my testing was pretty cool and did his best to make me comfortable. Basically, they’d give you a form to fill out asking personal questions; due to time constraints he ran through the form with me. He assured me that questions asked were not to judge, but to get a better picture of situations so that they can give advice/solutions. Therefore it’s best to answer HONESTLY.

Now the actual testing – there I was waiting for him to take out the needle and nothing, he proceeded to clean my finger then I looked away for a quick second and ouch! Next thing I know he’s drawing blood. P.S. my finger tip still stings a bit. To run the test and get my results it took 20 mins and voila I’m done.

The experience wasn’t bad and the talk was also very informative.
It’s better to know and get tested regularly.

aids*Don’t be this person*

Stay Tuned
xoxo

1 thought on “World AIDS Day”

Leave a Reply

