Travel

Caribbean Bucket List

For the new year “As Told by Ali” will be making some changes all in hopes of getting better.

Therefore, since part of my blog is about adventure you may have seen a few #SundayFunday posts where I go out and enjoy all my island has to offer. My life long goal like everyone else is to travel the world and learn as much as I can about each country.

There are 196 countries in the world; not limiting myself I decided that it would be a great idea to explore my own backyard ~ The Caribbean Region ~ as well.

The islands which make up the region can vary greatly, but to me I consider anything touching the Caribbean sea as a Caribbean island. As beautiful as my own island may be it’s always nice to see what makes other islands just as spectacular. I tried my best to shorten my list, so here are my six main places that I would love to visit *in no particular order*:

JAMAICA

Image result for jamaica blue lagoon

Most popular island in the region thanks to Bob Marley, but Jamaica is one of those place I’ve always dreamed of visiting. This trip would have to be a week or more due to how big the island is and the many places I’d want to explore. Sites to visit include Bob Marley Museum, Blue Mountains, Dunn’s River Falls, Negril – Seven Mile beach just to name a few. See more things to do here.

CUBA

Image result for cuba

Another one I’ve been dreaming about relentlessly. I think it’s the Hispanic culture which attracts me to this island. However, I recently found out that you can’t just travel to Cuba as a tourist *hmm*, we’ll just say it’s for educational purposes? Old Havana along with the surrounding areas offer lot of picturesque scenes as well as history.

ARUBA

Image result for aruba

Aruba is a Dutch Caribbean islands which forms part of the ABC islands (Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao). My main interest in Aruba are their desert-like atmosphere as well as the Flamingo beach. Pretty certain once there other places to explore will come into play.

GRENADA

Image result for grenada

Known amongst the region as the Spice Isle , Grenada is a mainland surrounded by several smaller islands; such as Petite Martinique and Carriacou. Things to do here include hiking, visiting waterfalls, exploring underwater sculptures (once I learn to swim), House of Chocolate and River Rafting.

BAHAMAS

Related image

An archipelago of islands located in the Atlantic Ocean, Bahamas still has Caribbean influences. Famously known for the Atlantis Hotel and swimming with dolphins you can also visit the zoo & conservation center and geological sites. My one thing about this island though is their national dish – conch! I love seafood and the variety of ways in which they prepare conch would be my favorite thing to explore.

ST. KITTS & NEVIS

Image result for st kitts and nevis

A dual island nation located relatively close to my home island and known as the Sugar City. This island has many areas to explore from mountaineous regions to beautiful beaches. Places to see include the Brimstone Hill Fortress, Clay Villa Plantation House & Gardens, Mount Liamuiga (a dormant volcano), crater lakes, green vervet monkeys, scenic railway and downtown.

Well there you have it, my top 6 places to visit in the region. P.S I will one day visit and explore all, but first these.

Are there any Caribbean countries you’d like to visit?
Have you ever heard of these islands?
What areas are near to you that you’d love to explore?

Stay Tuned
xoxo

N.B Photos are not mine.

 

Leave a Reply

