Inspiration, Reviews

Hidden No More

Image result for hidden figures

I gave you guys an extra week, but I just couldn’t wait any longer.

Now, first off I’m no movie critic however I felt obliged to post about this one. If you are a WOMAN and BLACK make sure this movie is on your to watch list if you haven’t seen it yet.

I watched this movie last week Sunday and to be honest I cried for like 65% of the movie. The tears were due to excitement, anger etc etc ….. I was simply overwhelmed with emotion.

However the main thing I took away from this movie was ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE. I felt like I could do anything, be anyone I wanted to be and go wherever I desired. There shouldn’t be any limits placed on me just because of society. It may be difficult to fight but if it’s worth it you can do it.

The movie is about three black women – Dorothy Vaughn, Katherine Johnson and Mary Jackson who fought their way through NASA’s space race (despite segregation, racial and gender inequality) to show the world what woman could do.

Each woman played a vital role in sending astronaut John Glen into orbit. They fought against the odds and were determined to excel in their specific roles. Vaughn took it upon herself to learn a computer program important to the space station; Jackson challenged the court in becoming the first black person to attend night classes at an all white school thus becoming NASA’s first black female engineer; lastly, Johnson worked tirelessly at computing figures necessary for Glenn to not only fly through orbit but to return safely as well.

Image result for hidden figures

My favorite and relatable quotes from the movie:

“Every time we get a chance to get ahead they move the finish line. Every time”

Fighting to get ahead was indeed a struggle and every time they got closer to an achievement there was a setback placed upon them.

“We are living  the impossible.”

Everything that was happening at that moment were only dreams, but if you believed that it could be a reality or that it was already it would be a reality.

HAPPY BLACK HISTORY MONTH

Congrats to the beautiful cast on their recent awards!

Related image

Genius has no race.
Strength has no gender.
Courage has no limit

 

Stay Tuned
xoxo

Leave a Reply

