reflection, Reviews

Let’s Talk: 13 Reasons Why

Hey Guys! Hope everyone is well.

Over the last few weeks I have seen quotes/messages from people about 13 reasons Why on various social media platforms. At first I was confused, because I never heard of this show; only to realize it’s a Netflix series based on a book. Everyone was going on about it, even in my group chats that I finally decided to give it a try.

Ten minutes in I decided it wasn’t for me, I was bored and the interest just wasn’t there. However, conversation continued and I felt even more curious to understand what everyone was talking about so I gave it another try. I finally completed the season last week and I don’t think I have a general description/emotion about it.

 baby confused idk unsure good luck charlie GIF

If you haven’t watched it yet I’d stop reading now *spoilers ahead*.

I don’t even know where to begin…..Basically the show is about the 13 Reasons Why Hannah Baker killed herself. It’s a high school story setting covering main topics such as bullying/cyber bullying, rape, abuse, sexual assault, sexuality and more or less the struggles young people may face while in school. There’s also the obvious suicide awareness.

The 13 reasons related to thirteen people who Hannah felt contributed to her decision. Some people had more than one tape where as Clay was the only one who wasn’t a reason, but she tried to make him understand the situation.

For some of the reasons I feel like situations could have been handled differently, but who am I to judge? Everyone doesn’t handle things the same and something that affects you may not have an effect on others.

It was a lot to dissect really.

The ones which bothered me the most were:

Justin Folley

Bryce Walker

Tyler Down

Marcus Cole

Mr. Porter

Seeing as it all started with Justin do you think it would have been different if he shut down the rumor that was being spread about Hannah?

Bryce for me was probably the worst reason, as in it would have definitely pushed me over the edge. How do you just take advantage of someone who’s drunk/unconscious? If I can’t give consent the answer is NO! You’re not entitled to any woman just because you’re popular/rich or whatever you feel you are.

I really hated his character, and to find out later that he raped Hannah made it worst. I wish she had the strength to fight back; I mean I wanted to fight for her through the screen, but who really knows what you would have done in that situation (given the previous ones) if it were you.

Rape is not okay, GET CONSENT!

My heart truly hurts for Jessica and I hope she finds another way to cope besides alcohol.

Tyler Down – since when is it okay to invade people’s privacy?
why was he so creepy?
What was he doing collecting guns?

Marcus Cole – The cool, smart kid who wants to fit in with his peers. It’s sad that was the way in which you chose to do that. First he gave Hannah hope then ended up humiliating her and trying to sexually assault her in public. The fact that boys are like this in reality is a cause for concern; this feeling of entitlement over a woman.

No, you’re not entitled to a response from a woman even if you give her a compliment. You’re not entitled to touch/feel up any woman based on their outfits/actions.
Perhaps that’s another topic for another day.

Demic duh rolling eyes rolls eyes what did i do GIF

Oh Mr. Porter, I can’t believe you call yourself a guidance counsellor; “just get over it”??? what kind of advice is that?
You were Hannah’s last hope & I feel like you let her down immensely.


Despite everything I’m ready for season 2. I feel like there’s much more to know.
How did her parents react after watching the tapes?
Did Alex ever make it?
Why didn’t she leave a tape for her parents?
Where did Justin go?
Do they arrest Bryce?
Where are Clay, Tony etc going?
I need answers!

blog-signature

6 thoughts on “Let’s Talk: 13 Reasons Why”

  1. I haven’t watched the show yet but based on the book, I completely agree with your comments! Unless the answer is explicitly “yes”, then the answer is obviously no.

    Do you plan on reading the book? I read it while in high school and it’s memorable.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m also awaiting season 2. Hannah needed to communicate clearly and stop playing these games like people suppose to read her mind, but who am I to judge? One of the producers said on 13 reasons beyond and which I so think is true is that when situations like those happen to high school kids they feel like their entire life has ended and there’s nothing more to live for. No one deserves to be raped and Bryce knew exactly what he was doing. I wanted to fight for her at that moment but I felt as if she could’ve fought back a bit harder. She wasn’t drunk or anything. She just gave in like she was looking for a reason to die. Again my opinion. I felt more sorry for Justin than I did for her.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I felt the same way too, but I guess she already gave up on everything. It’s a tough situation. Oh yes, as the series went on Justin’s troubles at home were worrying. Hopefully season 2 comes soon, I wonder if the book continued the narrative…

      Like

  3. The show pretty much sums up every feeling every emotion and basically everything that can happen to you high school one way or another in one season. That is amazing. I think that is why so many people connected with it. I even saw one thing that happened to me in high school watching 13 Reasons.
    In terms of my thoughts:
    I feel like if Hanna had owned up to what Justin did at the beginning, taken her own sexuality in her hands, and turn it around on him, “he is sh!t in bed” or something like that… cause denying it, no one believes you, a lot of things would have been avoided.
    But.
    Different strokes for different folks. Who knows what they would have done in that situation.

    More importantly I love the character of Clay because where as everyone just passed the tape on like the girl’s death was a movie, he took it seriously and actually got justice.

    — Bless

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

